RSS

Preparing for a beast of a race

26 Feb

Photo credit: phoenixblue0

I signed up last fall for the Spartan Sprint in NY in June. At the time, it seemed so far away (I had approximately 6 months to train for it). Since then, the weather turned cold, I got the flu, and my incredible cross training routine fell to shit.

Now, the race is in three months, I am less fit than I was when I signed up, and the prospect of RUNNING UP A SKI HILL suddenly has me crapping my pants with fear.

And that doesn’t even touch the obstacles – jumping over fire?! Climbing shit? Army crawling through mud? BURPEES????

I honestly don’t know what the hell I was thinking. But, I’m committed – not only have I purchased my spot in the race, and joined a team, but I bought tickets and pre-paid for a hotel room. So I’m GOING to the race. I’m going to BE IN the race.

The only question is: Will I survive it?

Yes.

I have to train for it. I have to run up and down stairs, and then big, big hills. I have to buy trail shoes, and break them in on actual trails. I have to lift weights, and do burpees, and run some more.

I have to do all of this very, very soon. I need to start as soon as possible, or I will not only be letting myself down, but my teammates, too.

Hey, if you’re up for it, let me know if you want to help me train! I’m in desperate need of some local accountability and training partners.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 26, 2013 in Fitness

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Preparing for a beast of a race

  1. Evette

    March 15, 2013 at 10:32 am

    So…How’s it going? Have you started training? You can do this you know! Can I help? I’ll be your virtual partner ;) Let me know what I can do!

     
    • Krys

      March 15, 2013 at 12:49 pm

      Oh my gosh, you are the best! I’m not doing too much yet, but I’ve got my determination hat on, and I’m going to run tonight after work. Check in on me tomorrow!

       

Join the discussion!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 152 other followers

