Microfiber is awesome

Have you ever wiped down a mirror, only to leave behind a bazillion streaks?  I have.  Feels like I’ve done it a bazillion times.  Makes me crazy.  Cray-zay.  So crazy, in fact, that I stopped wiping down mirrors because I couldn’t do it without leaving streaks, no matter what I did.  Can you say eew!?  My mirrors were pretty disgusting.

One day, maybe two years ago, I stumbled upon some microfiber cleaning cloths that are labeled as specifically for glass and mirrors.  I bought two of them, and stored one in the kitchen, and the other in the master bath.  And then promptly forgot about them (you may have read about how I hate to clean).

Fast forward to a few months ago.  It’s unseasonably warm, all our windows are grimy, and the house needs to be aired out.  I don’t want to use a whole roll of paper towels on the windows, and I start to get a little irritating memory scratching at the back of my brain.  I have something for this.  I bought something that would do this job.  I should go look for that thing.

So, I start digging under the kitchen sink, and come up with my two-year-old-but-still-pristine microfiber cloth.  I read the instructions (get it wet with tap water, wring it out thoroughly, and start wiping), and it’s off to the races.  I cleaned the inside and outside of two sets of 7′ tall windows, plus two more sets of glass doors, and the powder room mirror in less than 10 minutes, and all without any streaks.  None.  Not a single streak!

I don’t know how this magical microfiber cloth really works, but I don’t have to, do I?  It just does, and that is good enough for me.  Since the first use, I’ve cleaned all the bathrooms’ mirrors more frequently.  No spots left on these babies, no sir!

What tool have you used that has improved or simplified a household chore for you?

Join the discussion!

