Eating to lose weight

I could talk for days and days about what I have done to lose 30 pounds, and what I plan to do to lose another 20 pounds over the next 5 months. Really, days and days. Grab a chair. You’re going to want to get comfortable for this.

Kidding, of course. I will write for days and days about this, but I’ll parse it out for your benefit. Lucky you!

Today, I’m going to talk about what I’ve been eating over the past few months. Bacon. Pizza. Loaded baked potato soup. The other night I had something I like to call Krys’ Epic Mac & Cheese. We regularly enjoy Chipotle and Portillo’s (if you aren’t familiar with Portillo’s, you should be). Basically, what I’m saying is that nothing is off limits. Nothing at all.

I eat bread, meat, vegetables, starches, fruits, sugar, and anything else our species considers “food”. I drink beer, wine, mixed beverages, diet soda, iced tea, water, coffee, pretty much anything that I want.

 

The key? For me? (And, folks – that is the real key – this is what works FOR ME. Not what works for my cousin or neighbor, or for you. Although our bodies work in much the same way, we all have our own way of looking at the world, and what works for me may not work for you.) The key for me is portion control and planning.

I could eat a pound of bacon. Shouldn’t. But could. I could easily eat a whole pound of bacon, but in order to lose weight, I choose instead to only eat two or three pieces.

I could happily consume half a large pizza. Gleefully, even. But, instead, I eat a slice or two. Sometimes three, depending upon the pizza.

Venti peppermint mocha? Don’t mind if I do, but please make it “skinny” by using skim milk, sugar and fat free syrups. That’ll save me more than 300 calories over the original.

Heading to Portillo’s for lunch? Enjoy the usual (beef-n-cheddar croissant, small cheese fries, diet coke), and plan for a light dinner.

Chipotle in your future? Nosh on a burrito bowl, and skip the 200 calorie tortilla. Load up on protein rich meat and beans, and you’ll be full for a long, long time.

I never, ever feel like I’m missing out on something. Mostly because I never, ever miss out on anything. I eat what I want to, when I want to, in quantities that make sense.

It feels wonderful to lose weight while enjoying the same foods that made me fat to begin with. Really and truly. I am finally learning what portion control and moderation feel like. The best part of all of it is that this is absolutely a sustainable lifestyle for me. I could keep this up indefinitely, because I don’t feel constrained at all.

This is just how I live now.

Join the discussion!

